7 Tracks You Won’t Believe Were Released 5 Years Ago!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

7 Tracks You Won’t Believe Were Released 5 Years Ago!

Nicky Romero – Novell [Released 2nd May]
Receiving its worldwide premiere from Steve Angello during his main stage set at UMF 2016, the transcendent track instantly sparked the curiosity of festival-goers and fans across the world, all desperate to find out who was behind one of the most highly-anticipated IDs of the year’s festival. A main stage melodic masterpiece, laced with spiraling synths and a bouncing bassline, Romero worked in an impeccable orchestral breakdown of uplifting piano chords and sublime strings to immense dramatic effect. An anthem of truly epic proportions, brimming with Nicky’s electrifying energy and flawless style, ‘Novell’ could only have come from the master of progressive house himself.

Sebastian Ingrosso – Dark River [Released 6th May]
Although he may be mostly known for his team up alongside Axwell as Axwell ^ Ingrosso or even within the trio of Swedish House MafiaSebastian Ingrosso has cooked up some incredible solo releases over his lengthy career. Showcasing his talents once again in 2016, Sebastian Ingrosso went it alone on ‘Dark River’ and the result was fantastic as he blended infectious guitar synths, memorable vocals, and an electroclash drop to create a true peak time anthem.

Alesso – I Wanna Know (Alesso & Deniz Koyu Remix) [Released 13th May]
As if the pop-dance hit wasn’t enough, reaching over 200 million streams, Alesso decided to draft in Deniz Koyu to inject ‘I Wanna Know’ with some progressive medicine. The results were out of this world as they created a progressive house anthem that would dominate the festival circuit for 2016.

Oliver Heldens & Chocolate Puma – Space Sheep [Released 16th May]
For this gem, the mighty Oliver Heldens teamed up with the legendary Chocolate Puma. ‘Space Sheep’ combines a melodic beat with vintage Arcade game sounds taking the crowd on a journey through the Galaxy, pumping them up from one level to another until it hits a fever pitch with a speaker shaking electro-infused drop.

Martin Garrix & Third Party – Lions In The Wild [Released 27th May]
5 years ago, Martin Garrix and Third Party came together to bring us one of the most euphoric and uplifting releases of 2016. Officially premiered at Martin Garrix‘s Ultra Music Festival 2016 set, ‘Lions In The Wild’ which features vocals from Max McElligott quickly took over the festival scene in the coming months and has received over 80 million online streams since it’s release.

Axwell & Ingrosso – Thinking About You [Released 27th May]
Gearing up for the festival season, Axwell & Ingrosso delivered yet another crowd-pleaser as they unleashed ‘Thinking About You’. A somewhat hybrid between progressive house and pop dance, this single used infectious vocals with an addictive melodic instrumental to grab the listener’s attention. A mainstay in their 2016 sets, Axwell & Ingrosso delivered another gem with this one.

Honorable mentions:
Tiësto & Ummet Ozcan – What You’re Waiting For [Released 9th May]
Yves V Vs Dimitri Vangelis & Wyman – Daylight [Released 23rd May]
Headhunterz & Skytech – Kundalini [Released 23rd May]
Don Diablo ft. DYU – Drifter [Released 30th May]

Stream all of these tracks and more in our 2016 EDM Essentials playlist below – follow here.

You May Also like

Scroll to Top