New EDM Friday: David Guetta x MORTEN, Don Diablo, Alan Walker, Steve Aoki & More!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

New EDM Friday: David Guetta x MORTEN, Don Diablo, Alan Walker, Steve Aoki & More!

David Guetta & MORTEN – Permanence
David Guetta & MORTEN continue their acclaimed project with their latest monster ‘Permanence’, ready to kick start your year the best way possible. ‘Permanence’ begins with a teasing intro that gives snatches of the lead melody while building the tension effortlessly. A subtle build slams us headlong into a dizzying techno groove, with stuttering synth blasts cutting against throbbing bass and that snarling main motif. The haunting breakdown features an ethereal operatic vocal that soars skywards, leading to a moment of tense silence. Out of nowhere comes an intense buzz of synth pressure, which loops and shudders all the way to the drop. It’s a dark, heady track that’s designed to take apart big rooms and will send your mind to an altogether different place wherever you listen to it.

Don Diablo ft. Watts – Face To Face
Wasting no time kicking off 2022 like he ended the previous year, Don Diablo returns with a wonderful piece of vocal chill house. Taking his sights away from the dancefloors, this easy-listening single proves just how diverse the Dutchman can be when he steps into the studio. Letting the vocals and lyrics from Watts take centre stage, it’s the main section of playful and subtle synth work that really does the talking for this single.

Wes Smith – Steak & Shake
After a break in 2020, Wes Smith returned in 2021 in epic style as he churned out a whopping 16 new singles, each just as good as the other. As we look towards the new year, we can’t help but revisit Wes Smith‘s first release of 2021, ‘Steak & Shake’. Released via Juice Recordings‘Steak & Shake’ was the perfect return to the spotlight for the San Diego-based producer. A single that oozes power, Wes Smith utilizes speaker-shaking basslines and hard-hitting kicks and pairs them with dubstep-infused synths that combine to create the perfect peak time anthem.

High Life ft. Paul Bartolome – For You
Having made his debut in 2021, High Life capped off the year in style by bringing us the elegant single ‘For You’ featuring vocals from the very talented Paul Bartolome.‘For You’ kicks off with a sultry guitar section that perfectly sets the tone for this single. Paul Bartolome‘s vocals then come into the picture and lay the groundwork for the elegance that is to come. For the main section, High Life then introduces graceful topline plucks and synths with subtle yet effective kicks carrying the groove. Combining every element together for the main section was a stroke of genius and makes this a single that cannot be missed.

Larvik – Monster
Released on New Year’s Eve, Larvik treats us to a perfect party anthem with their new single ‘Monster’. The German duo aimed for a simple but effective style as they let the catchy and memorable deep vocals take center stage but by backing them with an infectious bassline melody and synths they make it a truly spectacular release. With many more tunes in the pipeline, 2022 is set to be a major one for Larvik.

Alok ft. John Martin – Wherever You Go (Alan Walker Remix)
For his first official outing of 2022, Alan Walker revisits his old style but keeps it modern with this genre-infused remix. The old synths that he uses throughout out scream of nostalgia and brings us back to the first time we’ve heard an Alan Walker tune and it’s an amazing feeling. With a higher tempo than what came before, this higher tempo matches perfectly with the synths and vocals leading to a wonderful remix overall.

Steve Aoki & Shaquille O’Neal – Welcome To The Playhouse
In a combo that many never thought would happen, electronic cakeman Steve Aoki teams up with global icon Shaquille O’Neal for electro anthem ‘Welcome To The Playhouse’. Bringing the energy in a major way, Steve Aoki‘s style perfectly matches with Shaq‘s vocals, giving us a tune that is sure to dominate the upcoming festival season.

Honorable mentions:
Blinders – Blind Love
Dada Life – So Good
Damien N-Drix – Let It Ring (MorganJ Remix)
Jaxx & Vega – Raverzone
Jonas Blue, Why Dont We – Don’t Wake Me Up
Laidback Luke x Teez – Brand New
Marc Benjamin x Jay Mason – Human Heart
Orjan Nilsen, ANG – Thousand Drums
Robert Falcon – The Sound
Seth Hills, Crime Zcene – Illumination
Swanky Tunes – Style

Stream all of these tracks and more in our New EDM Friday playlist – follow here.

You May Also like

Scroll to Top